• Home
  • IAF Digital Library
  • Public Website
  • My papers
  • Home
  • event
  • IAC-23
  • E3
  • 5-E7.6
  • session 5-E7.6


    37th IAA/IISL Scientific Legal Roundtable: "Space Launch from Celestial Bodies: Technology, Law and Policy"


    Space launches from Earth have long been the defining technical and legal qualification for states and other entities desiring to engage in the exploration and utilization of the outer space region. Representing a hard-won scientific and technological achievement, space launches are also the basis for assigning legal jurisdiction, supervision, and liability to the launching state under the five foundational outer space treaties. Rapidly growing numbers of non-governmental commercial space companies and facilities are soon moving space launch operations to the Moon and other celestial bodies, augmenting and in some cases replacing governmental space launch entities. Prospects for an extensive expansion of deep space explorations on the Moon, asteroids, and planets will include a greatly diversified range of space launch technologies and regulatory regimes. Space exploration will require both crewed and uncrewed launches, while sample return missions from asteroids, planets, and their moons will also feature dynamically evolving technologies as well as concerns for contamination and environmental protection. This 37th Joint IAA IISL Roundtable will examine the scientific, technical, legal, and regulatory aspects of space launches from celestial bodies. Roundtable Participants: IAA Secretary-General: Jean-Michel Contant, International Academy of Astronautics (IAA), France IISL President: Dr. Kai-Uwe Schrogl, European Space Agency (ESA), France Invited Speakers: Technical Speaker: Dr. Erika Wagner, Blue Origin, Seattle, WA, United States Legal Speakers: Dr. Antonino Salmeri, Open Lunar Foundation Dr. Andrea Harrington, McGill University, Montreal, Canada






    HAC Hall B

    IPC members
    • Co-Chair: Mr. Randolph Kendall, The Aerospace Corporation, United States;

    • Co-Chair: Dr. Ulrike M. Bohlmann, European Space Agency (ESA), France;

    • Rapporteur: Prof. Larry Martinez, International Institute of Space Law (IISL), United States;